A happy ending

290720113090I finished my The Stephen West Purl Ridge Scarf this week. It has been a blissfully straightforward piece of knitting and learning, ideally suited to a week of flying solo and sleep deprivation. Size wise, it turned out about 3 or 4inches short of the pattern and about 2 inches wider, despite my leaving out one of the 290720113087central repeats due to concerns over running out of wool. I’m sure I could block it to gain the extra length inches, but I like it just how it is. Knitting in the round and the new-to-me cast-off were fine. I will definitely make more Stephen West designs – the pattern was very easy to follow and I adore the finished scarf.

The yarn is Artesano Aran, a 50/50 mix of Alpaca and superfine merino. I love 290720113086it to pieces – feel, colour and handle are all delightful. I have the tiniest amount left which I think I might work into a sleeve for my mobile phone. I did however buy an extra skein too, which will be worked into this  hat pattern – I think it should work well with the scarf.

My next challenge is to decide what to do next. I might do some crochet for a week or two whilst we sort out Small Girl’s (lack of) sleeping. There is an Amigurumi Ballerina Bunny that I fancy doing, and I still want to make some trial Babette squares in the Lang Tissa cotton aran so that I can make my mind up whether to do the Babette or the Missoni inspired Afghan.  It would be very nice to work on something with rather less than 200 stitches per row. I remain convinced that count-y projects would be best saved until nursery starts again, or at least until I’m getting more sleep. I am going to add the hat above and the Amigurumi to my list, and will review the list again closer to Christmas. I am delighted with what I’ve been able to finish, but don’t want to put too much pressure on myself (or the food budget).

Thank you for reading, I hope you’ve all had a good week.

21 thoughts on “A happy ending

  1. I love merino – and I have found that every blend I’ve ever had the pleasure of touching has been gorgeously yummy and soft. I love the color.

  2. Looks like a scrumptious scarf! I also had a peek at the Ballerina Bunny and it’s very sweet. I completely agree about the less than 200 stitches thing; I split my attention between large and small projects to break things up!

  3. Very pretty! I love the color. I’m with you on not doing count-y type knitting until getting some real sleep. Mindless knitting is the way to go. 🙂

  4. That hat will be a perfect match for your lovely scarf. Actually, is it a scarf or a cowl? I’m not a great knitter and the bit about knitting it in the round has made me wonder. Have a great week.

    • Thank you Dorothy! I think it’s technically a cowl, as it’s joined, but it could easily be worked flat by not joining, then you could either use it as a normal scarf or just stitch the two short ends together.

I always enjoy comments, thank you for reading.

