Babette inspirations

I’m still trying to get a clear idea in my mind of how my Babette will work. I know that I want plenty of orange, yellow and pink. I thought I wanted a very few colours in chunky stripes, like this or this (both Rav links) but I love the generous exuberance of this. I know that I want vivid colours, like these bottles photographed from my old Tricia Guild colours book, and that I want to be reminded of gerberas (on the opposite page of the book) with their simple shapes and strong colours. I know that I want something that sings like these birds do on Small Girl’s Ikea dinner tray. Though gerberas aren’t blue and generally don’t sing.

290720113096290720113093290720113097290720113095

290720113094290720113092

Or maybe I do know what I want, but I don’t know if I can make it work. There’s only one way to find out…

10 thoughts on “Babette inspirations

  1. I have a huge problem with the Babette pattern, so many colours too choose from. I think that is the biggest reason I haven’t started on. LOL. But it’s still on my bucket list to someday do

  2. Thanks RugbyMad, Kepanie and Kim!

    RugbyMad – I couldn’t use the suggested number of colours either, but I think if I can find 6-10 that I love, and do thicker stripes, then it should turn out how I want.

    Kepanie – thank you! I’ve set up an account at Pinterest that should help me organise the colours. I have to have something to look at for inspiration on multi-colour projects.

    Thanks Kim – I was just admiring your little gerbera blogator thingy!

    • Thank you! It’s not proving easy to match the colours exactly but it’s a picture I hold in my head. Looking forward to seeing your Babette when it all comes together!

  3. Love your inspirations. I think that you will have success no matter which color combo you choose! I can’t wait to see your progress. Happy knitting, friend.

I always enjoy comments, thank you for reading.

