A hat with “something missing”

I thought I had finished Small Girl’s Modern Rib hat earlier today. She graciously told me that although she thinks it is very pretty, it has something missing. That something being a crocheted flower. I was going to put a button on this one, but there doesn’t seem to be a lot of room for negotiation. So a flower it shall be.

It has knitted up very nicely indeed. The yarn is Artesano aran, which is 50% merino and 50% alpaca. The pattern is a breeze to follow. I did ten inches of rib rather than the eleven specified for a small child size, and just squeezed in under a single 100g skein. It’s knitted in the round, starting on circulars and switching to dpns for the last six rows. I think it could be knitted flat if you didn’t mind the seam and if you didn’t bind off but pulled the end though the last few stitches to get the rounded crown.  I’m still pleased at how un-difficult it is to knit in the round,  it’s only the first and last rows which are a bit irritating and I suspect that this will remain the case even when I’ve knitted many more things in the round. The last row was definitely more poking and muttering darkly than knitting.

181020113486181020113485

10 thoughts on “A hat with “something missing”

  1. It’s such a cute hat! What a wonderful splash of colour! Sounds like Small Girl knows what she likes, and I’m sure it’ll look lovely on her once you’ve added a flower! Has she already decided which colour the flower should be?

  2. I’m in love with this color and small girl will be the envy of all her friends having a hat in a merino alpaca blend. As I read your post, I thought about how you can marry both your vision of a button and her vision of a crocheted flower — if you can find a whimsical or bright button to put in the middle of the crochet flower, I think that would look spectacular!! Lucky girl.

  3. The flower will be such a grand addition to that lovely, bright hat! You used Susan B. Anderson’s Modern Ribbed hat pattern, yeah? You should post it on the Itty Bitty forum on Ravelry.

I always enjoy comments, thank you for reading.

