Right. Some catching up to do.

First off, thank you all for your kind words last week, they were very much appreciated. We had an unexpected and cruelly early family bereavement. The funeral cannot be arranged yet, and it is a strange pending grief that hangs over us now that the initial shock is fading and real life is once again demanding time and attention. It seems bizarre to switch topic straight to knitting, but that is how life has been this week.

270220123824The first sock is nearly at the toe, which makes me very content. It fits, but I think will fit better done on a 2.5mm needle rather than a 2.75mm needle. The pattern has been absolutely fine to follow and there has been no major frogging (touches wood). I picked up a dropped purl stitch from four rows back after two glasses of wine, which seems like even more of a success now than it did at the time.

The Debbie Bliss baby beret for my nieceling/nephewling is something of a trial. The sizing is generous to a fault, and the pattern is not as helpful as it could be (though that could be a reflection of my inexperience and fractured 270220123825concentration). There is an irregular stripe sequence throughout the hat, and that has to be followed completely separately to the body of the pattern. I ended up with a pencilled list of stripes, one line per row, and I cross them off as I go, marking increases and decrease rows to tally back with the pattern. The decreases are done using one of those “follow as above until there are x stitches left” type instructions, and despite having exactly the right number of stitches on the needle at the start, I cannot get the maths to add up, it looks as if I will run out of sequence before hitting the required stitch count. I’m just going to keep going and hope that that it becomes clear closer to the end of the section. This is not a hat that will ever be re-made, I know this even before I’m anywhere near ready to sew in the dozens of ends (another feature of irregular stripes in five colours, sigh). Despite all of that, the hat is looking lovely. Just as well, really. I shall make matching socks or bootees (from another pattern).

Now that my friend has had her scan I can come clean and say that Son of Babette will soon be underway.  I’ll be using as many of the Tissa leftovers as I can and topping up with the totally bargainous Rico Creative Cotton, which does a great selection of acid pastels that complement the Tissa very well. The video below shows the colour inspiration for this one, I’m really quite excited about getting going!

Colour inspiration for Son of Babette

There’s been a bit of yarn shopping this week. As well as some of the Creative Cotton, there’s a new ball of Trekking for more socks and a ball of Rico Poeme, for a sock-yarn version of Felicity for another sister. I’m going to be busy.

To finish, here is a shot of the finished original Babette, in all its curly bordered glory. This blanket is perfect on Small Girl’s bed, and is growing deliciously soft and floppy as it is slept under and bounced on. I love it.

270220123829

11 thoughts on “Right. Some catching up to do.

  1. I’m so sorry for your family’s grief, its a no mans land of feelings. I hope you can all get some kind of closure with the funeral and as you say life moves on, even though we may want it to stop awhile.
    Looking forward to seeing Son of Babette as I love your colour inspiration and babette is so wonderful looking. That hat would drive me bonkers I think lol.

  2. Babette really did turn out beautiful. Am so sorry for your loss. I know how it feels to be “unfinished”. My best to you and your family. Gather strength from each other. Love the colors in the baby beret and am anxious to see it progress.

  3. I’m thinking of you as your family copes with this terrible loss. I do hope that your knitting is helping ease your pain … it isn’t strange at all to want to turn to the things that keep us engaged and sane. I still am in such awe of your Babette … well done! xo

  4. I too am sorry for your loss. It is a strange thing how life goes on as normal around us in those times of grief and I also hope you get closure soon. It is thrilling to see your finished Babette after seeing it’s journey to completion over the months–Small Girl is lucky indeed! I must say that with all those stripes and tallying work required for the baby hat, i will never try that pattern, although it is a lovely piece of work.
    *smiles and a hug*

  5. I’m sorry to hear how hard things have been for you and your family, I do hope that the funeral happens soon and you can properly grieve.

    Your sock is brilliant, I can’t believe you picked up that stitch ‘under the influence’ I wouldn’t know where to start apart from ripping back.

    The hat sounds hugely complicated, rather you than me…..yey for another babette, although can’t see your clip as YouTube is on strike here!

  6. I’m so sorry to hear of your loss. It’s one of those times where words are not enough. My sincere thoughts and sympathy are with you.

    On a cheerful note, thank you for sharing the finished Babette. It is absolutely stunning x 100.

    Stripey garments are great, but the ends are something else aren’t they? I try to carry my colours up the side as much as possible, but sometimes, you just have to have ends. I’m sure the hat will be gorgeous when it’s done!

  7. I am so sorry for your loss. The sudden ones are mindblowing and make you feel like you’ve been hit by a Mack truck. My condolences to you and the Ohana.
    When I’m missing my aunt, I try to honor her in some way, like light a candle of her favorite scent/flower or do something like I did at Stitches.
    Other than that, I’m glad you got in some needle and hook time altho that hat pattern description had my head turning in circles. Love that sock! Again, Babette is just phenomenal.

I always enjoy comments, thank you for reading.

