one square to go!

WP_000341I’ve made good progress on baby  Babette this week, despite a couple of days when it was quarantined due to Small Girl’s tummy bug. There is now just one 4-round square left to crochet, some joining, rather too many ends to sew in and a border to do. I am very happy with how the colours have worked on this one. Next week will bring photos of the finished blanket, but for the moment here are two of my favourite squares from this week. It’s getting easier the closer I get to the end, and my project bag has reached that lovely point of being mostly full of project rather than mostly full of yarn.

WP_000338Not such good news on my sock. I was foolishly trying to turn a heel whilst cuddling a drowsy fevered child, and it all went dreadfully wrong. I’m going to have to frog, but have not yet decided whether I’ll just frog the heel flap and try to get all the springing loops back onto the needle the right way round, or if I’ll just put the whole thing into the naughty corner for the time being and start a fresh pair. I hate frogging socks, it is my knitting nemesis (as amigurumi is my crochet nemesis). Nursery finishes in a week and I’m leaning towards a fresh start.

21 thoughts on “one square to go!

  1. Looking forward to seeing baby babette, especially as I loved small girls so much. Two very pretty squares. If it were me and the socks I think I’d opt for the naughty corner only because I have to be in the mood to frog lol. Hope small girl is better soon, its never nice when they are ill.

  2. I hate frogging, I don’t get people who actually like doing it….I suspect like the others, out of sight, out of mind, just for now!

    Can’t wait to see the new Babette.
    Hope small girl is all better now, temps in kids are awful, but they seem to bounce back quickly….normally just as you’re going down with it too! Charming kids eh!

  3. I can’t frog back to anywhere midway on a heel turn, but I can usually rescue it somewhere on the heel flap. I rrrrrip, and then I tink back one or two more rows to make sure I’ve got them all rightways round.

    Can’t wait to see Babette! Must be exciting to be soooo close!

  4. Hope your baby is better !! having a sick one in the house is rough…. Frogging socks is not my favorite thing either…I have done it several times…and it’s not the easiest thing to do but can be done…

  5. Sorry to hear about your little one but I hope this coming week is healthier. I’m so impressed that you’re almost done with your Baby Babette!

  6. Oh no I hope the “sock issue” doesn’t end up too frustrating and I hope your kiddo is feeling better (and that nobody else picked up the stomach bug). Can’t wait to see Babette all finished!!

  7. Really looking forward to seeing baby Babette. Those colours look lovely together. If those socks were mine, I’d have to frog them completely as I’m hopeless at trying to pick up stitches. Good luck with whatever you decide to do with them. xoxox

  8. Bring the sock into JJ, we’ll get it fixed so you don’t have to frog! Try using a lifeline at the bottom of the leg before the heel flap on the next sock, just in case 🙂

  9. Poor little one, hope she is better soon. I’ve a feeling the Babette is going to be gorgeous – can’t wait to see!

  10. Yay for the babette being nearly finished, can’t wait to see it! And I would just pick up the stitches whatever way I can then untwist them as I knit if I were you

  11. Frogging of any kind makes me irritable; but sometimes it’s necessary…however no need to be in a hurry to do it. I’m soooooooo looking forward to seeing Babette finished, it’s been fun seeing it grown with so many wonderful colors.

  12. Congrats on nearing the end of Babette! The feeling that the end is in sight is the best 🙂 I’m not a sock knitter so have no advice but hope that it’s easily fixed! Also hope your small girl is better now. Thanks so also for the really kind comment you left on my blog – it made my day!

  13. So sorry for your sick wee one–I hope this week was better. (I am bit late with the visiting)–Can’t wait to see Babette this weekend, and I hope you have better news regarding the naughty sock. Only frogging back a portion never works for me as I can never get all the stitches picked back up–sigh–not a fan of frogging either, but sometimes it just has to happen, doesn’t it?
    *smiles*

I always enjoy comments, thank you for reading.

