A Finish, progress & some lovely gifts

WP_001385

They’ve been a long time coming. I think the YoP group has seen engagements, house-movings and even brand shiny new babies since I cast these on six months ago. I don’t know why they took me so long but can truthfully say that my frogging, tinking and picking up dropped stitch techniques have all improved terrifically. They fit perfectly, more so than in the picture, and are toasty warm in this cold snap. Pattern is Vanilla Latte and yarn is a Natural Dye Studio 4ply. That’s now two pairs out of my six done.

WP_001409The third pair (Vorticity) are progressing steadily. I’m doing the heel flap on the first sock now. I like the texture and colour, neither of which photograph well, so you’ll have to imagine something rather prettier than the picture – which is not that difficult. I’ve signed up for Crafts from the Cwtch sock knitalong, though am not yet sure whether to (sensibly) finish this pair or put them aside for the knitalong and try something new.

The winter frost stripe scarf is hibernating, I am keeping it as rebound knitting for those inevitable times when I need a break from anything that involves counting or stitchmarkers.

WP_001413

My Arcadian shawl is doing well, with occasional cussing when I find a knot or have to rip back to insert a missed yarn over. I’ve added the contrast colour in the photo though it will be a couple of weeks before I need it. The yarn is Manos Serena, a birthday gift from my good friend K last year, and is wonderful to work with despite the occasional knot.

While we’re talking about gifts, let me shamelessly brag about mention the rest of a very generous delivery from Santa.

WP_001405My hat-loving sister, via Santa, gave me 4 skeins of Yarn Yard merino sock weight. This will be the Nothing Fancy shawl, which I want to be a homage to Tim Burton movies, Helena Bonham Carter, Fuchsia Groan (from Mervyn Peake’s “Gormenghast”) and all things just a little bit dark. I *think* that the brown/grey edging will work well enough with the sulky pinky purply mix, but won’t know for sure until I get there – I don’t want a cookie-cutter match, rather something that sits a little unsettlingly.

The second shawl will be a laceweight Color Affection, courtesy of a very generous and kind friend. The first problem with this one will be choosing which three of the four balls of Lana Grossa Lace Merino to work with, the second problem will be minding my language through those very long rows. It’s calling to me though, probably because I haven’t made a blanket in six months now and I really fancy the silky drapey vastness of a laceweight Veera.  Here’s the yarn in various combinations, and a gratuitous shot of crafting books from another sister. There were even more great books from another sister, but they are way out of scope for this blog. It’s been a great few weeks. I hope January is treating you well, wherever you are. Thank you for reading, and for all your comments last week.

WP_001399WP_001401WP_001402WP_001394

10 thoughts on “A Finish, progress & some lovely gifts

  1. I’ve been playing with color combinations for a color affection myself– I know it’s endless garter stitch, but the finished shawls look so snuggly, how can we resist? I’m not quite as committed as you are– I’m going fingering not lace 🙂

  2. That Yarn Yard colourway is gorgeous!

    As for Colour Affection, I like #1 green-copper-purple, followed by #3 purple-copper-red. I don’t care for the red and green together, but that’s just me. I look forward to seeing what you decide on 🙂

  3. Ooooh, lovely yarn shots….what a clever old lot who obviously know you well with their gifts! I like the combos on the left top, or bottom picture. I did a ca last year, and was foolish enough not to read the mods that everyone apart from me seemed to know about…..can’t quite remember but a change to the edge stitch, my edge was far too tight and caused me a bit of a headache. I love it though…..veera is just amazing.

    Love your new socks, the colours are gorgeous and they look like a perfect fit. I have decided to join in Crafts for the Cwtch with some socks too….it will all be a steep learning curve for me….but as Miranda’s mum says ‘such fun!’

  4. Love the socks and I like the colour combos, its fun to play around with the colours. I think one of them with the purple, its just a gorgeous shade of purple but hey thats just me. Hope you have a good week.

  5. You lucky girl with all those wonderful presents! Congrats on the socks…yours look great….mine are okay but I guess I’ll get better and yes, I too learned quite a bit and improved my skills knitting them.
    Can’t wait to see what you do next with those yarns!
    Did someone say KAL for socks???

  6. Those socks are gorgeous, and I think we all have a project that takes forever, and well done for not letting it defeat you! I’m loving the new socks as well, can’t wait to see what they look like finished.

I always enjoy comments, thank you for reading.

