Hesh, the perfect hat.

It’s been three weeks, I’m sorry. The glorious Hesh hat was finished soon after my last post, stowed in my handbag, used the next day in unexpected snow, and appropriated by Small Girl very soon afterwards.

The pattern is free, via Ravelry. I used two different shades of Malabrigo Rios and have enough left to do another one. The Rios was a delight to work with, with the single exception of winding it. I made a size large. It fits me, and it fits five year old Small Girl too. If I was making one explicitly for her I’d do it in a medium purely to get it finished quicker and with shorter i-cords. If I was doing one explicitly for me I would try not to have the tassels hit at nipple height this time. She has worn it in ridiculously high winds, untied, and it’s still stayed firmly over her hot little ears. This is a hat that makes people smile. It’s warm. It stays on your head. It squished up to fit into a handbag without having so little bulk that it’s easily lost. Perfect. The knitting is straightforward and quick, the pattern clear. I was a stitch out on my final few rounds but it still turned out fine.

Still on the needles is the No Fa (Nothing Fancy) shawl. This is coming along well, even with the cussing that a row of yo y2togtbl will inevitably provoke when Small Girl goes back to school tomorrow and I have to tackle the 4 row lace section.

Apologies for the lack of links/graphics – I’m blogging on a different pc to normal and don’t have access to my beloved LiveWriter.

I should come clean and say that I’m completely off socks at the moment. Absolutely, massively, completely. I think I needed to do something bigger and not in pairs. In other news, I finally deactivated my facebook account a week ago. I’ve done so much sewing, despite it being school holidays, that I think I’ve broken my machine. I should also say that as a returner to sewing, I absolutely loved the first episode of The Great British Sewing Bee. Loved it so much that I blew a tenner on the accompanying book, which is great and will be even better value if I can get the local copy shop to enlarge some of the patterns for me.

 

7 thoughts on “Hesh, the perfect hat.

  1. Fabulous hat. Love the idea of two skeins of Malabrigo 🙂 I’m kinda off socks too … my crochet afghan hexagons are getting more love these days. I think it’s just that I want to see rapid progress with thicker yarn.

  2. I must to mark that hat pattern as a favorite! Small girl looks lovely in it. 🙂 I am glad to see some people off the sock thing, as I never was able to get on it at all and have been feeling left out! 😉 Have a super week….
    *smiles*

  3. I really love Hesh it looks like a great hat !. My daughter and I are loving the Sewing Bee and I think I’m going to have to haul out the machine for her to practise on ! Perhaps we can see some of your lovely sewing to.

  4. I love a good hat pattern that actually stays on your head. Strange how that can be a problem sometimes…

  5. Hesh looks fun…I am not off socks, but I’ve decided I need to work to get rid of my other yarns and save the slight yarns for warmer weather. ..Seems like a shawl named “nothing fancy” should not include a “yo y2togtbl” row..!

I always enjoy comments, thank you for reading.

